Late Oba Monarch Igwe Okpoko Laid To Rest

Shared note

Late Oba Monarch Igwe Okpoko Laid To Rest

The remains of the traditional ruler of Oba, Idemili South Local Government Area Igwe Peter Chukwuma Ezenwa have been laid to rest at his country home, Oba.

Igwe Ezenwa aged ninety-two, until his demise has been on the throne as the first traditional ruler of Oba for forty-two years.

The service held at Saint Peter's Anglican Church Parish, Oba in honour of Igwe Eze Okpoko Oba, was attended by crème de la crème in the society including Ministers, top government functionaries, Archbishops, Bishops, Clergy and Traditional Rulers among others.

In a sermon, the Primate, Church of Nigeria, Anglican Communion, Most Reverend Nicholas Okoh described the late Traditional ruler as selfless, resourceful and a servant leader.

The primate called on people, especially those aspiring to any leadership position, to imbibe the virtue of servant leadership just like Igwe Eze Okpoko.

In a condolence message, Governor Willie Obiano called on the family to bear the loss with fortitude noting that the community and indeed the entire state lost a very big personality.

Two sons of Igwe Ezenwa, the Regent of Oba, Chief Noel Ezenwa and Prince Henry Ezenwa who was a former Transition Chairman of Idemili South Council Area appreciated everyone that identified with them during this period of mourning.

The body of the late Monarch was later interred in his Eze Okpoko Mausoleum, Oba.

Show to visitors
Unique identifier
Last change
September 17, 202008:07:54
Author of last change: ionyclaret
Given names Surname Sosa Birth Place Death Age Place Last change
97 2 5 92 Thursday, September 17, 2020 9:44 AM
Given names Surname Age Given names Surname Age Marriage Place Last change
Media objects
Media Title Individuals Families Sources Last change
Title Abbreviation Author Publication Individuals Families Media objects Shared notes Last change
Repository name Sources Last change
Submitter name Individuals Families Last change
Chief Dr. Samuel Oranu (1937–2019) Chimamanda Ngozi ADICHIE (1977–) Akunwata Clement Jackson Chukwunwike MADUEWESI (1925–2014) Lucy Ngozi Ogbu (1985–2020) G. E OKEKE (–1997) Tony Muanagor (–) Henry Arvo Okenwa NZEWI (1993–2016) Florence Onyebuchi EMECHETA (1944–2017) Beatrice Uchenna AGBA (1951–2017) Patricia ODIMGBE (1945–2019) Cyprian EKWENSI (1921–2007) Cordelia Ikpechukwu ELEANYA (1955–2015) Joanna VASSA (1795–1857) Hon. Chief Desmond Edmond Chilaka ANYANWU (1932–2003) Chisom Jane OKEREKE (1989–2017) Somtochukwu Augustine ONWUTALOBI (1989–2010) Chief Benjamin Nnamdi AZIKIWE (1904–1996) Igwe Peter Chukwuma Ezenwa (1926–2018) Eze Odumegwu Nwosu … (1895–1945) Caroline Nwaole (1963–2018) Veronica Nwoshi NDIGWE (1940–2016) Late Sir (Engr) Amb. Onyenekwe (1945–2016) Ezinne Sabina Nwachima Ezeigwe (1950–2019) Dr. Dozie Onyeanusi IKEDIFE (1932–2018) Suzanne Rero Emma (–) Chukwuemeka ODUMEGWU OJUKWU (1933–2011) His Royal Highnessgness Eze Emmanuel C. UZOMA (1947–2017) Louis Uchenna MBAH (1945–2015) Ìfikwuánim NRI (1043–) Ngozi Jennifer ENUMAH (1973–2017) G. E OKEKE (–1997)