Blessed Cyprian Michael Iwene Tansi

Media file
Title: Blessed Cyprian Michael Iwene Tansi
Type: Photo
Format: jpeg
Blessed Cyprian Michael Iwene Tansi

Cyprian Michael Iwene Tansi (September 1903 – 20 January 1964) was an Igbo Nigerian ordained a Roman Catholic priest of the Archdiocese of Onitsha, Nigeria on 19 December 1937. He worked in the parishes of Nnewi, Dunukofia, Akpu/Ajalli and Aguleri.

He was later a Trappist Monk at Mount Saint Bernard Monastery in England. After being recommended by Cardinal Francis Arinze, who was inspired by Tansi as a boy (he had been one of Tansi's students and knew him personally),[3] he was beatified by Pope John Paul II on 22 March 1998, who said, "Blessed Cyprian Michael Tansi is a prime example of the fruits of holiness which have grown and matured in the Church in Nigeria since the Gospel was first preached in this land. He received the gift of faith through the efforts of the missionaries, and, taking the Christian way of life as his own, he made it truly African and Nigerian."

His feast day is 20 January

Show to visitors

Unique identifier

Last change September 26, 202014:31:36

Given names Surname Sosa Birth Place Death Age Place Last change
Blessed Cyprian Michael Iwene Tansi
September 1903
117 Aguleri, Anambra East L.G.A, Anambra State, Nigeria
0 January 20, 1964
57 60 Leicester, England
Wednesday, September 23, 2020 8:32 AM
Given names Surname Age Given names Surname Age Marriage Place Last change
Title Abbreviation Author Publication Individuals Families Media objects Shared notes Last change
Title Individuals Families Media objects Sources Last change
His Royal Highness Silas O.C. Ezenwa (1923–) Chinedu IKEDIEZE MFR (1977–) Gustavus VASSA (1745–1797) Emmanuel IFEZUE (1951–2017) Paul Obiano MUOMAH (1942–2017) Catherine Ikwuka OKOYE (1948–2013) Dr Michael Iheonukara Okpara (1920–1984) Nkiruka Anthonia Ikeanyionwu (1995–2015) Suzzy N. DURU (1957–2017) Ogechukwu Ejikeme (1944–2015) Caroline Nwaole (1963–2018) Caroline Nwaole (1963–2018) Christiana Ugo Njoku (1949–2009) Prof. Chike Edozien Umuezei OBI (1921–2008) His Royal Highness Eze Ugbonyamba … (1881–1924) Kingsley Mathew ESSIEN (2000–2017) Vincent ANAGO (–1999) Jayzik AZIKIWE (1958–2008) Pauline Uchenna OKAFOR (1957–2015) Charles Ogbu-wa-Chima (1986–) Otolo … (1581–1639) Victor Nnamdi OKAFOR (1964–1999) Dr. Michael Anyaegbunam NDIGWE KSM (1934–2009) Innocent Chidume OFFOR (1946–2016) Rosemary Eziefule Nzurumike UGWUMBA ANOSIKE (1940–2015) Amaechi Muonagor (1962–) Chukwuemeka ODUMEGWU OJUKWU (1933–2011) Bennett UMUNNA (1934–1992) ERI … (948–1041) Caroline Nwaole (1963–2018) John Chukwuemeka AKPU (–2015) His Royal Highness Igwe Dr. Kenneth Onyeneke ORIZU III (1925–)